Tags

, , ,

So I was searching online looking for cookie cutters like I usually do, and I came across this Etsy site where she makes her own specialized custom cookie cutters.  I guess it’s a special printer that actually prints out the plastic cookie cutters! Amazing right!? Right!

As I am about to order this cookie cutter, thinking that $4.50 is not bad at all, what got me was that I would actually be paying $9.45 with the shipping costs added on.  Now, mind you, I don’t mind at all paying for a product plus the shipping, But having to pay $9.45 for a 3 inch in height and 1-1/2 inch in width piece of plastic made me think, “gee, I sure wish I had one of them special plastic printing machines!” And then I remembered a time when I didn’t have a certain cookie cutter and I made own myself!

So today I am going to show you and take you through the steps that I did to make my own special cookie cutter! Not the kind of cookie cutter that you push into the dough, but the kind you use to cut around with a knife.  For those of you that found my blog through a Monster High cookie cutter search, I hope this helps you and inspires you to make your own for only pennies!

The supplies you will need for this project are:

  • Card stock
  • Black sharpie marker
  • 1 lid from a bucket of margarine
  • scissors
  • printout of you desired image

Step 1: Find a picture of a Monster High skull logo through the internet, and print it out on card stock.  I found this one

image

Step 2: Cut it out

image

Step 3: Get your plastic lid from a bucket of margarine.

image

Step 4: Place cut out on the lid.

image

Step 5: Using a black Sharpie, trace the cutout.

image

Step 6: Cut out your traced image.

image

Step 7: Wash the black Sharpie line from the edges and TaDa! It’s ready to use!

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial!  I will also include the link to the Etsy site that sells the actual Monster High skull cookie cutter, for those interested.

Stay tuned for my next post, Where I show you how to use the template on cookie dough.

Have a wonderful day readers!

Click link below for the actual cookie cutter.

Monster High Skull cookie cutter on Etsy.

